Petitt Cup Champions release 2020 Schedule.

Petitt Cup Champions release 2020 Schedule.

MOREHEAD CITY, N.C. — The back to back Coastal Plain League Champion Morehead City Marlins have announced their 2020 season schedule, with the quest for their third consecutive title to begin on Thursday, May 28that the Wilson Tobs. 

The Marlins will kick off their 2020 home schedule at  Big Rock Stadium on Friday, May 29th against the Wilson Tobs.  Opening night will feature a celebration of the back to back championship season including unveiling the championship banners and ring presentation.  

Morehead City's begins its defense of their back to back Coastal Plain League Championships with a new divisional looks.  With the loss of the Fayetteville Swampdogs, the league is now split into two divisions.  The Marlins division will include Peninsula Pilots (Va.), Wilson Tobs (NC), Wilmington Sharks (NC), Holly Springs Salamanders (NC), Florence Redwolves (SC) and the newest addition the Tri-Cities Chili Peppers (Va). 

For the first time in three seasons, the Marlins will welcome out of division opponents to Big rock Stadium.  The Marlins will welcome the Savannah Bananas and the Asheboro Copperheads. The 2020 All-Star events will be held in Holly Springs, North Carolina with the hosts being the Salamanders.  The dates for those events are scheduled for July 12-14.

The Marlins claimed back to back Coastal Plain League Championship in August with a thrilling Championship series against the Macon Bacon in front of a packed house at Big Rock Stadium.  The Marlins finished their championship season with a record of 41-15.  The 41 wins were the most in franchise history which broke the record from the year before (38).  The Marlins also broke the Coastal Plain League record for consecutive wins with 14. 

The Coastal Plain League is the nation's premier summer collegiate baseball league. Heading into its 24th season in 2020, the CPL features 15 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina and Virginia.  To date, the CPL has had over 1,450 alumni drafted and 118 alums – including 2017 ALCS MVP, 2017 World Series champion, 2011 AL MVP and Cy Young award winner Justin Verlander, as well as former Marlin and 2017 NLCS MVP Chris Taylor – make their Major League debut.  For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat @CPLBaseball.