Marlins Repeat as Coastal Plain League Champions

Marlins Repeat as Coastal Plain League Champions

MOREHEAD CITY, N.C. — The Marlins knocked off the Macon Bacon 6-2 on Sunday night, to win their 2nd straight Coastal Plain League title.

After winning a franchise record 37 games in the regular season, the Marlins finished 4-1 in the postseason to bring home the Petitt Cup for a 2nd straight summer. The Marlins become the first CPL team to repeat as champions since the 2013-14 Peninsula Pilots. 

The Marlins benefited from a four-spot in the 4th inning to take a 4-1 lead that set the tone for the rest of the night. Hunter Shepherd drove in the first run with an RBI double, and Jacob Reimold and Bryan Kowalski followed with back-to-back singles to plate three more runs. 

On the pitching side, Leo Perez got the start for Morehead City. He threw two innings of one-run ball before giving way to Jack Myers. In just his 3rd appearance in a Marlins uniform, Myers threw 4 innings allowing only one run to earn the win.

The Marlins would add two more runs in the 5th inning, on an RBI single from Shepherd. Shepherd finished the night 2-4 with 2 RBIs.

Cal Hehnke wrapped it up for Morehead City in the 9th, as they brought the Petitt Cup home for a 2nd straight summer.